Last updated: May 21. 2014 9:18AM - 419 Views
By Megan Kennedy

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

  • More than 380 people attended the National Trail FFA Chapter’s Parent-Member Banquet on April 26, making it the largest banquet in National Trail FFA history. The night started off with dinner and then an awards ceremony that highlighted members’ accomplishments from the past year. Shania Jordan was the recipient of the Star Greenhand, which is given to a freshman who shows outstanding effort, grades and dedication. Dawn Richardson was the recipient of the Star Chapter, which is given to a sophomore who demonstrates the greatest effort, dedication and grades. The Parliamentary Procedure Team was recognized for their achievement of first place in the county and a gold rating. The team went on to place first in the district five finals and placed second in the state semi-finals. The Urban and Rural Soil Judging teams were also recognized at the banquet for their success. The Urban Soils team earned the chance to compete at the National Soils Career Development Event in Oklahoma.

Retiring plaques were awarded to the 2013-2014 officer team: President Kate Deaton, Vice President Carson Fort, Secretary Cara Williams, Student Advisor Heather Brooks, Treasurer Kara Gallaher, Reporter Tessa Rhodus, Sentinel Lenny Morgan and Historian Sean Drew. The 2014-2015 officer team was also announced. The Banquet ended with a tribute to the late Joe Slone, who was an advisor for 31 years at National Trail. The National Trail FFA Chapter would like to send thanks to member of the community, FFA Alumni and friends who helped in any way to make this year’s banquet possible.

  • Members of the National Trail FFA Chapter attended the 86th Ohio FFA Convention in May. Members attended the first, second, fourth and fifth sessions of the Convention, listening to speakers and state FFA officers, receiving awards, going on tours and having fun. Allie Unger, who received her State FFA Degree, was the top recipient of awards. Cara Williams and Kara Gallaher received “Gold Medals” as FFA Chapter Secretary and Treasurer, respectively. The National Trail chapter was also recognized for its donation to the Foundation Chapter Trust, Children’s Hospital and CROP/Church World Services. Member who attended were: Kate Deaton, Cara Williams, Allie Unger, Heather Brooks, Emilie Satterfield, Kara Gallaher, Savannah Reece, Chelsea Allen, Sam Eyler, Lenny Morgan, Whitney Haws, Tessa Rhodus, Hannah Wellman, Cana Biser, Kenzie Rike, Paige Phillips, Dawn Richardson, Danielle Thomas, Suzanne Kimball, Chloe Studebaker, Cierra Rinehart, Marissa Hawkins, Grant Killen, Trey Mann and Lucas Bailey.

Attendees also had the opportunity to tour the Anthony Thomas Candy Factory, attend a Charlie Worsham concert and eat chapter meals at Johnny Rockets, Raising Cane’s Chicken Fingers, Culver’s and BD’s Mongolian Barbeque Restaurants.

  • The National Trail FFA Urban Soils Team placed second in State Soil Judging in October this past year, which made them eligible to compete at National Soils for the eighth time on May 1 in Oklahoma City. The team included Sean Drew, Carson Fort, Josh Baker and Becky Allen. The team placed 40th out of 57 teams in the home site judging contest. The top scorer of the team was Josh Baker. The team also had the opportunity to enjoy meals at Cattleman’s Café, Toby Keith’s I love This Bar and Grill and Shorty Smalls. They also toured the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum and the Stock Yards.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Eaton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com