Eaton BOE accepts resignations, hires new staff

EATON — On Monday, June 8, Eaton Community Schools Board of Education approved the hiring of five new teachers and accepted the resignation of longtime guidance counselor Dorothy Stoltz.

The board approved the resignation of Stoltz after 57 years of service at the school according to members of the board. Stoltz was currently acting as a guidance Counselor and Junior Class Advisor.

The board also accepted the resignation of Assistant Principal Stan Hughes during the meeting.

Steve Kline, Sydney Hartzell, Sam Watson, Carly Bulach, and Jackie Chasteen, were all hired as new teachers for the district on one year initial contracts.

The purchase of a new bus was approved during the meeting for $84,370 through state purchasing. Bus 21 will also be traded-in, for $2,500.

A new program with Montgomery County ESC will start laying the foundation for a gifted student service program within the Eaton School district. Currently Eaton is only required to identify gifted students to the state according to Superintendent Barb Curry. During the meeting Curry described the new program as eventually becoming a type of Individual Education Plan for gifted students.

The board approved student fees for the 2015-2016 school year. Kindergarten will be $25, 1st grade will be $24, 2nd grade will be $25, 3rd and 4th grades will be $15, 5th grade will be $20, 6th grade will be $25.50, 7th grade will be $15 and 8th grade will be $26.

Lunch and breakfast prices were also set for the 2015-2016 school year during the meeting. Breakfast will be $2 for K-5 and $2.10 for grades 6-12. Lunches will be $2.75 for K-5 and $3.10 for grades 6-12.

The board approved “Jump Start Summer School” for grades K-3. The program will be held from July 27 to Aug. 7 from 9 a.m. to noon. The program focuses on literacy support and will be paid in full by the use of grant money.

The board approved the official graduation list for the class of 2015.

Public meetings were held for the re-employment for “retire- rehire” candidates, Rodger Clark, Cindy Neanen, and Ron Neanen but no comments were made during the meetings.

Thirteen coaches were approved as either junior high or high school assistant coaches for the school district at the meeting.

Donations were accepted from the Eaton Wrestling Parents to the Wrestling Department for plumbing costs at the wrestling building. Connie Harris donated to the Boys Basketball Program in memory of Michael Townsend. Multiple anonymous donations for the Eaton Football program were also accepted.

The Eaton Board of Education meets every second Monday at 6:30 p.m. at East Elementary school in Eaton.