National Trail MVCTC FFA excels at 2020 convention

Submitted by Mykenzie Smith - For NTFFA

NEW PARIS — Although the Ohio FFA Association was not able to hold the traditional 2020 State FFA Convention, a virtual event was hosted. The National Trail MVCTC FFA Chapter was recognized as a gold rated chapter in the state of Ohio.This is the highest honor an Ohio FFA Chapter can receive. The 2019-2020 Chapter officer team completed the award application that was submitted for judging. The application highlighted numerous events our chapter committees organized and executed throughout the year.

The following officers also completed gold rated books: Secretary Kacy Osswald, Treasurer Sara Norton, and Reporter Haley Koehl. These members were each recognized for their efforts.

The National Trail MVCTC FFA Chapter also had many FFA members earn their State Degrees. These members include: Mark Armstrong, Jesse Norton, Sara Norton, Kacy Osswald, Harry Phillips, and Alyssa Zdobinski.

National Trail MVCTC FFA members were also selected to be a part of the State FFA Band. These members were: Mark Armstrong (Baritone Saxophone), Garland Weaver (Percussion), Harry Phillips (Tenor Saxophone), and Riley Horn (Trombone).

Abbey Rodefer placed as a finalist in two proficiency categories in the state of Ohio. These categories included Agricultural Sales-Placement and Grain Production. Alyssa Zdobinski was also a finalist in the state of Ohio in the fruit production category. Zdobinski also placed first in the district first in the district with her Agricultural Processing application. Haley Koehl placed second in the district in the Equine Science-placement category. Madison Myers placed second in the district in the Agricultural Processing Area. Zdobinski also placed fifth in the district with her Small Animal Production and Care Application. Skyler Ward placed fourth in the district with her Beef Production placement proficiency application.

The 2020 Ohio FFA Virtual Convention was a banner year for all members to remember. These accomplishments would not have been possible without the supporters of the chapter.

Submitted by Mykenzie Smith