Huffman supports National Prescription Drug Take Back Day

R-H Staff

COLUMBUS — State Senator Steve Huffman is encouraging Ohioans to take advantage of National Prescription Drug Take Back Day on Saturday, April 30, from 10 a.m.-2 p.m.

The U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) sponsors the event, which provides safe, convenient and responsible disposal of prescription drugs. It is also a measure to prevent medication misuse and opioid addiction from ever starting.

“As a physician, I know prescribed pain relievers can be of great benefit to patients, at times,” said Huffman. “But, I also know that once these powerful medications are no longer needed it is important to get them out of the home. Take Back Day provides an easy and efficient way to do that.”

Hundreds of locations across the state will be available for Ohioans to drop off unwanted and expired medications as a safe and convenient way to remove powerful drugs from their homes. More than 46,000 pounds of prescription drugs were collected at 278 sites across Ohio during the most recent Drug Take Back Day held in October 2021.

To find the location nearest you, learn more about Drug Take Back Day, and access information on ways to seek help for addiction, click here.

DEA’s website notes: The drug overdose epidemic in the United States is a clear and present public health, public safety, and national security threat. DEA’s National Prescription Drug Take Back Day reflects DEA’s commitment to Americans’ safety and health, encouraging the public to remove unneeded medications from their homes as a measure of preventing medication misuse and opioid addiction from ever starting.

DEA is committed to making our communities safer and healthier, and we can do this by reducing overdoses and overdose deaths. While the community does its part to turn in unneeded medications and remove them from potential harm, we are doing our part to further reduce drug-related violence.

According to the DEA, the Preble County Sheriff’s Office is the nearest collection site.

R-H Staff