Student notes

Sydney Vorhis

JACKSON, TENNESSEE — Sydney Vorhis of West Alexandria has been named to the Union University President’s List for the fall 2017 semester.

The President’s List includes full-time students who achieve a 4.0 grade point average on a four-point scale.

Vonderhaar awarded scholarships at Ohio State

Ryan Vonderhaar, of Camden, has been selected to receive scholarships from the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) at The Ohio State University. Vonderhaar, an agricultural communication major, was awarded the Hazen and Anna Jane Hildebolt Preble County Scholarship Fund, the Mervin G. Smith Student and Faculty Fund in International Agriculture, the Pfeiffer, Miller and Saunway Family 4-H Scholarship Fund, and the Donald E. & Martha L. Fogg Alpha Tau Zeta Scholarship Fund in CFAES for the 2017-2018 academic year. Earlier this year he was awarded the Earl and Wilma McMunn Agricultural Communication Scholarship from the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL).

Each year, CFAES awards undergraduate students approximately $2.1 million in scholarships. This year, ACEL students received $253,721 through CFAES college and department scholarships.