CCC releases all-conference teams

By Eddie Mowen Jr. -

PREBLE COUNTY —A pair of Preble County coaches in the Cross County Conference after leading their respective teams to league championships.

Tri-County North baseball coach Justin Tucker was selected as the Cross County Conference Coach of the Year after leading his team to an 11-1 league record and an outright title.

National Trail softball coach Krista Alldred guided the Blazers to their first title since 1996 to earn Coach of the Year honors.

In baseball The Panthers, which reached regional semifinals for the third time in the past five seasons, landed two players on the first team, two on the second team, and had one honorable mention selection.

Newton’s Rhett Gipe was voted as the Player of the Year.

Tanner Booth and Chandler Sproles were first team selections for North, while teammates Zach Edgin and Bo Hendrickson earned second team accolades. Bailey Lairson was an honorable mention pick.

National Trail’s Peyton Land and Twin Valley South’s Ryan Bassler were first team picks.

Second team picks included, Twin Valley South’s Ryan Johnson and Tanner Upchurch.

Earning honorable mention status was Isaac Plankenhorn of National Trail and Jared Cottingim of Twin Valley South.

In softball, National Trail’s Savanna Abner and Kerestin Nugent earned first team honors, as did Riley Cruse of Tri-County North and Kelsie Shafer of Twin Valley South.

Second team selections were Gracie Jones of National Trail, Morgan Helman of Tri-County North and Shelby Denlinger of Twin Valley South.

Earning honorable mention honors were Ariel Lee of National Trail, Taylor Green of Tri-County North and Lacey Emrick of Twin Valley South.

By Eddie Mowen Jr.

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH