Trail, North, South football players honored with district honors

R-H Staff

COLUMBUS — The 2018 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association recently announced the Southwest All-District Division VI football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district.

National Trail, Tri-County North and Twin Valley South all had players recognized.

First Team Offense

Backfield: Jason Blake, Troy Christian, 6-foot, 190 pounds, junior, RB; Fred Brown, Cincinnati Riverview East Academy, 6-1, 190, sr., RB; Daevon Bryant, Cin. Deer Park, 5-6, 205, sr., RB; Mac Davis, Springfield Northeastern, 6-1, 165, sr., QB; Seth Griswold, Miamisburg Dayton Christian, 6-0, 170, jr., QB; Logan Hurst, Mechanicsburg, 6-2, 175, jr., QB; Joey Mascadri, Mechanicsburg, 5-10, 175, sr., RB; Cade Schmelzer, Covington, 6-2, 185, jr., QB; Brian Stinson, Lewisburg Tri-County North, 6-0, 155, sr., QB; Jacob Ullmer, Tipp City Bethel, 5-10, 180, sr., QB; Trevor Woodruff, West Liberty-Salem, 5-7, 150, jr., QB.

Receivers: Andrew Cates, Covington, 6-1, 185, jr.; Joseph Hocker, Deer Park, 6-6, 235, sr.; Max Queen, Springfield Northeastern, 6-2,175, sr.; Kix Thiel, Mechanicsburg, 6-0, 195, jr.

Linemen: Nick Baker, Troy Christian, 6-2, 260, sr.; Colin Colyer, Deer Park, 6-1, 205, sr.; Joseph Stillwell, Williamsburg, 6-3, 275, jr.; Trevor Warren, Dayton Christian, 6-2, 175, sr.

First Team Defense

Linemen: Cooper Cole, Tri-County North, 6-2, 185, so.; Grant Doucette, Troy Christian, 6-0, 220, sr.; Preston Jackson, Tri-County North, 6-3, 300, sr.; Gage Kerrigan, Covington, 5-7, 200, jr.; Thad Lawrence, West Liberty-Salem, 5-10, 210, jr.; Isaac Lee, West Liberty-Salem, 5-11, 230, jr.; Noah Luiken, Dayton Christian, 6-0, 365, jr.; Micah Trimbach, Troy Christian, 5-8, 200, jr.; Kyle Wolfe, West Liberty-Salem, 6-0, 284, jr.

Linebackers: Parker Dysinger, Covington, 5-11, 170, sr.; Josh Hivner, Troy Christian, 5-8, 175, sr.; Jake Hurst, Mechanicsburg, 5-9, 150, fr.; Dylan Kelley, Bethel, 5-11, 205, jr.; Dakota Roberts, Williamsburg, 5-10, 175, jr.; Major Stratton, West Liberty-Salem, 6-0, 215, sr.; Codey Taylor, Springfield Northeastern, 6-2, 205, jr.; Ian Wilson, Covington, 5-11, 190, sr.

Secondary: Nathan Waltz, Troy Christian, 6-0, 155, jr.

Offensive player of the year: Joey Mascadri, Mechanicsburg

Defensive player of the year: Parker Dysinger, Covington

Coach of the year: Calvin Johnson, Deer Park

Honorable mention: Cade Cottingim, Twin Valley South; Caleb Twiss, Troy Christian; Deshawn McIntire, Deer Park; Keith Bebout, Caden Coleman, Mechanicsburg; Nick Burden, West Liberty-Salem; Sam Jackson, Dayton Christian; Zac Woodall, New Paris National Trail; Jayden Heltsley, Arcanum; Wyatt Hutchins, Tri-County North.

R-H Staff