All-CCC volleyball honors awarded

By Oliver Sanders -




PREBLE COUNTY — The Cross County Conference recently released the 2016 all-conference volleyball awards with each of the three Preble County schools represented by individuals.

Twin Valley South seniors Abby Beneke and Madison Wright were named first team All-CCC.

Junior setter Mylan Crews earned special mention for South.

For Tri-County North, sophomore Riley Cruse was voted second team all-conference, while senior Sara Harris earned special mention.

National Trail’s Shania Jordan was also selected to the special mention team.

Twin Valley South tied with Franklin Monroe for fifth place in the final team standings, sporting an 8-4 conference record and 14-8 overall. Tri-County North finished 11th with a 2-10 mark in the CCC while earning a 3-18 overall record. National Trail managed a 1-11 league record, good for 12th place.

Miami East earned its seventh consecutive team championship, led by Player of the Year honoree Jonni Parker and Coach of the Year Dan Peterson.

Final league standings with conference record listed first followed by overall record were:

Miami East, 12-0, 17-5

Arcanum, 10-2, 18-4

Ansonia, 9-3, 17-4

Covington, 9-3, 10-12

Twin Valley South, 8-4, 14-8

Franklin Monroe, 8-4, 10-14

Newton, 7-5, 9-10

Mississinawa Valley, 5-7, 10-12

Tri-Village, 4-8, 6-14

Bethel, 3-9, 4-16

Tri-County North, 2-10, 3-18

National Trail, 1-11, 4-17

Bradford, 0-12, 0-22



By Oliver Sanders

Reach Oliver Sanders at 937-683-4062 or on Twitter @osanders_RH

Reach Oliver Sanders at 937-683-4062 or on Twitter @osanders_RH