Eaton, Preble Shawnee volleyball players named All-SWBL

By Oliver Sanders -



EATON — Four Eaton and four Preble Shawnee players were selected to the All-Southwestern Buckeye League volleyball teams for the 2016 season.

For Eaton, senior setter Emma McKinney earned her third consecutive first team All-SWBL Southwestern honors. McKinney was named all-state third team last season by the Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association.

Junior Ariel Richardson was named second team All-SWBL Southwestern. Senior Stacia Weathington and sophomore Becca Mowen made honorable mention in the division.

Eaton finished tied for third place in the Southwestern Division with a 7-5 record, and 13-10 overall on the season.

Preble Shawnee’s Elise Walker earned her second-straight All-SWBL Buckeye Division first team honor. She was second team all conference in 2014. Sophomore Kaylie Campbell was named second team all-conference, her first-ever league award. Seniors Savannah Lynch and Brianna Wells earned honorable mention recognition.

Preble Shawnee ended the season in third in the Buckeye Division with a 9-4 record, and went 12-11 overall.

Waynesville and Bellbrook won the Buckeye and Southwestern divisions respectively — both teams went undefeated in league play with 12-0 records. The Spartans had the most individual awards in the Buckeye Division, with three first team and two second team honorees. Thea Bostwick earned Coach of the Year and senior Abby Struewing earned Player of the Year. This is the second straight division title for Waynesville, who tied with Milton-Union in 2015. Bellbrook’s Abby Crotty was the Player of the Year in the Southwestern Division and her coach, Lynzee Johnson, was tabbed as the Coach of the Year.

Final SWBL volleyball standings

Buckeye Division

Waynesville, 12-0, 21-3

Milton-Union, 10-2, 16-6

Preble Shawnee, 8-4, 13-11

Middletown Madison, 5-7, 9-13

Dixie, 4-8, 6-16

Carlisle, 3-9, 5-12

Northridge, 0-12, 2-19

Southwestern Division

Bellbrook, 12-0, 22-3

Valley View, 10-2, 20-4

Eaton, 7-5, 13-10

Monroe, 7-5, 13-11

Oakwood, 4-8, 9-14

Brookville, 2-11, 5-15

Franklin, 0-12, 3-18


By Oliver Sanders

Reach Oliver Sanders at 937-683-4062 or on Twitter @osanders_RH

Reach Oliver Sanders at 937-683-4062 or on Twitter @osanders_RH