Student notes

Emma McKinney

EATON — Emma McKinney of Eaton was the recipient of this year’s Preble County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship. The $1,000 scholarship is good for the college year 2017-18 at the college or university of McKinney’s choosing.

McKinney was salutatorian of the Class of 2017 at Eaton High School. McKinney attended Miami Valley Career Technology Center as a student in the Allied Health program, while also taking college courses at Sinclair Community College since 2016. She will be attending a four-year college, seeking a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing.

The Preble County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship Award Program was established to provide a $1,000 scholarship to a deserving and qualifying Preble County graduating high school senior. The scholarship seeks to reward a student who has shown excellent scholastic achievement, community involvement, and who may be in need of financial assistance in order to continue his or her higher education goals.

Cameron Willis

SPRINGFIELD — Cameron Willis of Eaton competed in Florida with his Wittenberg University Men’s Golf teammates. His team won its first NCAA Division III National Championship. Willis, who flirted with the top of the leaderboard throughout the four-round tournament, parred the final hole for Wittenberg, putting the finishing touches on the school’s first Men’s Golf National Championship. Individually, Willis finishd tied for 18th at +9.

Wilmington College Dean’s List

WILMINGTON — Several area residents were named to the Wilmington College Dean’s List for the 2017 spring semester. To be eligible for the Dean’s List honor, a student must be enrolled fulltime and maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Area students named included: Suzanne N. Kimball of Eaton, junior, agriculture; Jade A. Newton of Eaton, senior, agriculture; Gabrielle A. Cooper of West Alexandria, sophomore, agriculture. and Cody J. Volz of College Corner, sophomore, agriculture.

BGSU spring dean’s list honorees, graduates

BOWLING GREEN, OHIO — Bowling Green State University has announced the undergraduate students who have been named to the spring semester dean’s list for achieving grade point averages of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale. To be chosen for the dean’s list, undergraduate students must carry no fewer than 12 letter-graded credit hours per semester. Candidates for spring commencement have also been released

Graduation candidates included: Andrea O’Meara, Eaton, Master of Education; Mollie Turpin, Eaton, Bachelor of Arts and Mark Johnson, West Alexandria, Bachelor of Science in Education, cum laude.

Dean’s list students included: Helen Holman, West Alexandria and Lindsay Creech, West Alexandria

Maria Kern

ASHLAND, OHIO — Maria Kern of Eaton was named to Ashland University’s Dean’s List for the spring 2017 semester. Kern is majoring in forensic biology and toxicology. She is a 2016 graduate of Eaton High School. To be eligible for this honor, a student must be enrolled full time at Ashland University and achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Michaela Vance

FINDLAY — More than 1,100 graduates were recognized for earning degrees from the University of Findlay for the academic year 2016-2017. Students earning doctoral, master’s, bachelor’s or associate degrees were invited to walk in the University’s commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 6. Michaela Vance, of Camden, received a Bachelor of Science in Animal Science.

Hunter Wilson

RICHMOND, INDIANA – Preble Shawnee graduate Hunter Wilson played an active role in helping Indiana University East earn the NAIA’s Buffalo Funds Five-Star Champions of Character Team Award for men’s tennis for the 2016-17 school year. The honor is the equivalent of an NAIA men’s tennis Champions of Character “national championship.”

ECOT announces honor rolls

COLUMBUS — The Electronic Classroom of Tomorrow (ECOT) recently announced 351 students were named to the school’s latest honor roll for junior high school. Students ending each quarter with a 3.0 GPA or above were named to the honor roll. Among the 351 students was one from the Preble County area: Breanna Fuchs of Camden.

ECOT also announced 808 students were named to the school’s latest high school honor roll. Students ending each quarter with a 3.0-3.499 GPA for that previous semester are named to the honor roll. Among the 397 students named to the honor roll were Brandon Fuchs of Camden, George Ogles of Eldorado and Kara Tims of West Alexandria.

Austin Jarbo

WILMINGTON — Wilmington College conferred 254 graduating seniors with Bachelor of Arts (BA) and Bachelor of Science (BS) degrees at its 141st annual commencement ceremony. Graduates, some receiving special honor recognition, were from WC’s main campus, Cincinnati Branch in Blue Ash and the degree completion program at Cincinnati State Technical and Community College. Austin L. Jarbo of Jarbo of Gratis received a Bachelor of Science in sports management.

MU President’s List

OXFORD — Miami University students who are ranked in the top three percent of undergraduate students within each division for second semester 2016-17 were named to the president’s list recognizing academic excellence. Local students named to the president’s list included: Amy Daily of Eaton, and Abigail Fergus of Lewisburg.

Stephanni Smith

BEXLEY — Capital University recently announced its President’s List honorees for the Spring 2017 semester, including Stephanni Smith of Eaton.

UD Dean’s List

DAYTON — The following local residents made the University of Dayton’s dean’s list for achieving a minimum 3.5 GPA for the spring 2017 semester. Students named included Mitchell Monnin of Camden and Rebecca Richardson, also of Camden.