SWBL releases all-league teams

By Eddie Mowen Jr. - emowen@aimmedianetwork.com

PREBLE COUNTY — Eaton and Preble Shawnee’s baseball and softball teams were well represented on the all-league teams recently released by the Southwestern Buckeye League.

A total of 22 athletes earned All-SWBL honors led by Preble Shawnee senior catcher Annilou Belvo, who was selected as the softball Player of the Year in the Buckeye Division.

Eaton baseball coach Patrick Flannagan was voted as co-Coach of the Year in the Southwestern Division.

Eaton sophomore Annika Gels was picked as the Pitcher of the Year in the Southwestern Division.

Earning first-team honors in the Buckeye Division in softball were Belvo and Preble Shawnee sophomore Jenna Lovely.

Earning second team honors from Shawnee were seniors Rianne Woodard and Savanah Lynch, while juniors Alyssa Davidson and Miranda Chaney were honorable mention picks.

Ashley Brown of Carlisle was named the Buckeye Division Pitcher of the Year and Carlisle coach Tom Shelton was Coach of the Year.

In the Southwestern Division, Gels and sophomore teammate Becca Mowen earned first team honors. Junior Bailee Worley was a second team pick.

Sophomore Logan Unger and freshman Ashley Earley were honorable mention selections.

Sarah Eschmeyer, a senior, and Faith Hensley, a junior, both of Monroe, were selected as co-Players of the Year.

Monroe’s Tim Kellis and Franklin’s Jim Miller were co-Coaches of the Year.

Eaton’s baseball team landed seven players on the All-SW Division team, including three first team selections.

Seniors Bradley Curry, Colton Gray and Trevor Pittman were first team selections.

Earning second team honors were seniors Blake Curry and Donnie Nicodemus.

Seniors Lew Bowser and Ghye Wilson were honorable mention picks.

Earning co-Coach of the Year with Flannagan was Oakwood’s Bob Hunt. Alex Page of Monroe was the Player of the Year.

Preble Shawnee juniors Cole Heger and Chase Thompson were second-team picks in the Buckeye Division.

Seniors Colton Pugh and Dwight Wilt earned honorable mention status.

Waynesville’s Chris Hawkins was tabbed as the Coach of the Year and Carlisle’s Adam Goodpaster was selected as the Player of the Year.

By Eddie Mowen Jr.


Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH