County soccer, volleyball players recognized at district level

By Eddie Mowen Jr. -

PREBLE COUNTY — The postseason honors for county soccer and volleyball players, as well as coaches keep rolling in.

Eaton’s James Howard landed a spot on the Division II Miami Valley Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association District first-team.

Eaton girls assistant coach Kevin Schaeffer was named the Division II Assistant Coach of the Year.

In Division III, Preble Shawnee’s Brenna Woodard and Abby Bulach were first-team All-District.

Howard was named to the D-II South first-team, while his teammates Nate Gard and Owen Baumann earned second-team honors. Chris Hudgel and Brayden Beachler were honorable mention picks.

Eaton’s Ashlynn Black was a first-team pick for the girls D-II South team.

Tyler Pittman was a second-team selection, while Emily Dungan and Isabelle Trader were honorable mention picks.

Schaeffer was the D-II South Assistant Coach of the Year.

Twin Valley South’s Brayden Marker was a second-team pick on the boys D-III West team. Tri-County North’s Preston Lairson and Jarod Isaacs were also second-team picks.

The third team consisted of Hunter Terry of Tri-County North, Jake Byrne of Twin Valley South, Aaron Clark of Twin Valley South and Chris Keener of Twin Valley South.

The girls D-III South team is loaded with county athletes and coaches.

Woodard and Bulach were first-team selections as was Twin Valley South’s Makiah Newport.

Earning second-team honors was Bailey Downard of Preble Shawnee, Logan Hollon of Preble Shawnee and Allison Bassler of Twin Valley South.

Abby Elam and Jenna Lovely of Preble Shawnee were third-team picks as was Madi Hundley, Kassidy Whaley and Abby Robertson of Twin Valley South.

Preble Shawnee’s Jeff Stiver was named the Coach of the Year after guiding the Arrows to a district final appearance.

Twin Valley South’s Aubree Kurtz was the Assistant Coach of the Year.

The girls D-III North team consisted of Tri-County North’s Taylor Green, who was a second-team selection, and Preston Lipinski, who was a third-team selection.

In volleyball, Eaton’s Shaylen Perry earned District 15 first-team honors and Annika Gels was a second-team selection in Division II.

In Division III, Preble Shawnee’s Kaylie Campbell was first-team pick as well as being named Senior Player of the Year and Co-District 15 Player of the Year.

The Arrows Kylie Johnson was a second-team pick.

In Division IV, Twin Valley South’s Sindey Mowell earned first-team honors and was named the Senior Player of the Year and District 15 Player of the Year.

Other first team picks were Riley Cruse of Tri-County North, Tristan Bowers of National Trail, Clair Fergus of Twin Valley South, Lexi Stiner of National Trail and Mackenzie Neal of Twin Valley South.

Emma Hale of Tri-County North was a second-team pick.

National Trail’s Joy Yeazel and Twin Valley South’s Jandee Mowell were named Co-Coaches of the Year.

By Eddie Mowen Jr.

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH