Eaton, Shawnee baseball players earn all-SWBL honors

By Eddie Mowen Jr. -

PREBLE COUNTY — Eaton’s baseball team had five players earn all-league honors after finishing the season with a record just above .500 at 11-10 and tied for third in the Southwestern Buckeye League’s Southwestern Division with a 7-5 mark.

Sophomore Travis Pittman and senior Ryan Venable earned first-team honors.

Earning second-team honors was senior Jordan Turner, while seniors Owen Baumann and Tyler Earley were honorable mention selections.

Valley View coach Matt Gentry was voted as the Coach of the Year after leading the Spartans to a co-championship with Franklin.

Bellbrook’s Jayden Elliott was selected as the Pitcher of the Year and Aaron Blake of Franklin was named the Player of the Year.

First-team honors went to Clayton Black (Franklin), Aaron Blake (Franklin), Adam Galle (Bellbrook), Max Kozarec (Valley View), Andrew Lunne (Oakwood), Sam Moon (Monroe), Braden Moore (Brookville), and Ty Sears (Valley View).

Second-team honors went to Rylan Craft (Valley View), Bradley Hodson (Valley View), Gunner Lakins (Franklin), Nick Osterman (Monroe), Kyle Russell (Franklin), Hayden Sharritt (Brookville), Blake Shepherd (Monroe), Cole Shindlebower (Bellbrook), Tytus Tussey (Franklin) and Manny Willis (Brookville).

Honorable mention honors went to Zach Brennamen (Oakwood), Troy Coulter (Valley View), Ashton Focht (Valley View), Ethan Jenkins (Bellbrook), Casey Judy (Franklin), Aiden Kinser (Franklin), Tommy Lunne (Oakwood), Carter Pickens (Brookville), Seaver Rothwell (Monroe), Sam Sharrit (Bellbrook), Ben Smith (Brookville) and Charlie Vest (Monroe).

In the Buckeye Division, Preble Shawnee finished 6-19 overall and 3-9 in the SWBL to finish fifth.

The Arrows had three players selected to the all-league team with junior Jake Green landing second-team honors.

Senior Brayden Cole and junior Luke Woodard were honorable mention picks.

Waynesville’s Ryan Hill was named the Coach of the Year.

Brady Stone of Waynesville was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Tristan Sippple of Middletown Madison was the Player of the Year.

Waynesville won the division with an 11-1 record. Madison was second at 10-2.

First-team honors went to Jake Edwards (Madison), Dane Flatter (Carlisle), Andrew Hall (Northridge), Lane Johnson (Waynesville), Aaron Kanthak (Dixie), AJ Lovin (Milton-Union), Sam Rawlins (Carlisle), Aaron Stone (Milton-Union), and Cameron Svarda (Madison).

Second-team picks were Jonas Boggs (Waynesville), Talon Borders (Carlisle), Luke Hughes (Madison), Alex Hurley (Waynesville), AJ Keeton (Carlisle), Noah Lehman (Madison), Jake Munafo (Madison), Bryce Stone (Waynesville), Charles Sultzbaugh (Northridge) and Kayge Thwaits (Milton-Union).

Earning honorable mention was Alex Beam (Milton-Union), Nolan Burney (Carlisle), Justin Gray (Madison), Trevor Hall (Dixie), Gerald Leach (Northridge), Trevin Mays (Northridge), Clark Miller (Dixie), Ryan Papanek (Waynesville), JJ Roberts (Carlisle), Drake Skiles (Waynesville), Jordan Smith (Madison) and Josh Woodell (Milton-Union).

By Eddie Mowen Jr.

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH