PC Rep. party endorses candidates


PREBLE COUNTY – The Preble County Republican Party did not endorse either of the two current sitting county commissioners during its meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 19, although incumbent Chris Day did receive 69 percent of the vote.

To receive the party’s endorsement, a candidate needed 70 percent of the vote. Forty-nine of the 55 voters were at the meeting according to Dave Haber, Chairman of the Preble County Republican Executive Committee.

Day topped the list of the four candidates running for his current seat. Tony Pope received 23 percent of the vote, while 8 percent of the voters voted not to endorse any of the four. Also running are Eric Green and Eric White.

In the race for the seat currently held by Denise Robertson, former county engineer and challenger J. Stephen Simmons received the party’s endorsement with 71 percent of the vote. Robertson collected just 23 percent, while 6 percent voted not to endorse either candidate.

The party also endorsed Mark Vosler (Coroner), Kyle Cross (Engineer), Brenda White (Treasurer), Jeanne Creech (Recorder), Mike Simpson (Sheriff), Christopher Washington (Clerk of Court Common Pleas) and Marty Votel (Prosecuting Attorney).

The party endorsed Rob Portman in his bid for a seat in the U.S. Senate.

Tim Derickson got the nod in for the 8th District Rep to U.S. Congress, over Bill Beagle.

Also receiving the county’s GOP endorsement were: Maureen O’Conner (Chief Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court); Pat DeWine (Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court, term Jan. 2, 2017); Pat Fischer (Justice of the Ohio Supreme Court, term Jan. 1, 2017); Jeff Rezabek (43rd District of the State House of Representatives); and Stephanie Garrett (State Central Committee 5th District Woman position)

By Eddie Mowen Jr.

[email protected]

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4056 or on Twitter @emowen_RH.

No posts to display