Southwestern Buckeye League names baseball, softball awards


EATON — The Southwestern Buckeye League announced the 2016 softball and baseball all-conference awards. In the baseball Southwestern Division, three Eaton Eagles were named First-Team All-SWBL: juniors Bradley Curry, Donnie Nicodemus, and Trevor Pittman. Juniors Blake Curry, Colton Gray, and Ghye Wilson were awared second-team awards. Senior Max Fadden, and junior Henry Duram received honorable mention recognition.

Bob Hunt was named Southwestern Division’s Baseball Coach of the Year from Monroe, while Roman Rothwell, also from Monroe, was named Player of the Year. Filling out the ranks in the first-team selections were: Tyler Brophy and A.J. Denlinger of Brookville, Jake Daulton and Rothwell of Monroe, Jackson Jennings and Alex Neff of Oakwood, Austin Lewis of Valley View, and C.J. Trevino of Franklin. The second-team awardees were: Loban Beecraft, Connor Curtis, and Kyle Ireton of Monroe, Koonnor Black of Franklin, Austin Brown, Mason SHerrill, and Cameron Slone of Bellbrook, and Lucas Layman of Oakwood. Receiving honorable mention were: Nathan Boyle and Devin Wade of Valley View, Cody Cox and Michael Lander of Brookville, Collin Dean and Austin Gilbert of Franklin, Brian Erbe and Brock Gorman of Oakwood, Jordan Kiger and Jacob Schmidt of Bellbrook, and Alex page and Bryson Taulbee of Monroe.

The 2016 SWBL softball all-conference awards were also announced. Meghan Puckett, an Eaton senior, was awarded first team all-conference. Eaton saw two freshmen earn second team awards in Annika Gels and Becca Mowen. Seniors Madison Couch and Jayna Lee gained honorable mentions for the Eagles.

Jim Miller of Franklin earned Southwestern Division’s Softball Coach of the Year. Shelby Raby and Carlee Russell, both from Franklin, earned Pitcher and Player of the Year honors respectively.

Rounding out the rest of the first team all-SWBL first team were Haley Adams, Patton Akers and Carlee Russell of Franklin, Sarah Eschmeyer and Faith Hensley of Monroe, martha Fitzharris of Oakwood, Erin Gardner and Bailey Pennington of Brookville, Nicole Licher of Bellbrook, and Ashley Ward of Valley View. Second team inductees include: Mikalya Abner and Olivia Kelly of Franklin, Alexis Arnold and Samantha Key of Monroe, Colleen Dowd of Oakwood, Kassidy Heck and Kaycia McCarty of Brookville, Moran Metcalf of Valley View, and Sami Seubert of Bellbrook. The honorable mention awardees were: Claire Fryman and Brooke Tincher of Bellbrook, Madison Hamiel and Marissa Newsock of Brookville, Carrie Keister and Hannah Powers of Valley View, Alyia and Casey Zepernick of Oakwood, Huner Salyers and Jill Taylor of Monroe, and finally Emily Temple and Lacy Wilch of Franklin.

The SWBL Buckeye Division baseball selections recognized Cody Chesnut from Preble Shawnee as a second-team awardee. Given honorable mention were sophomores Luke Lovely and Chase Thompson for the Arrows. In softball, Annilour Belvo and Savannah Lynch were named first-team and second-team all conference respectively. Jenna Lovely and Riane Woodard were granted honorable mention status for the 2016 season.

Ryan Hill of Waynesville was named Buckeye Division’s Baseball Coach of the Year. Carlisle’s Adam Goodpaster was named Player of the Year. In the first-team selections, Waysnesville received honors from Cory Clark, Nat Hiles and Tommy Isaaacs. The rest of the field included Jake Glover, Goodpaster, and Reece Human of Carlisle, K.C. Lindo, Stephen Melton and Breet Neal of Madison, Jeremiah Silvey of Northridge, and Krue Thwaits of Milton-Union. The second team all-conference were the following: Austin Beachler, Mason Callahan, and Logan Fruhwirth of Waynesville, Caleb Boy, Nick Moore, and Jordan Wolfe of Carlisle, Like Campbell of Madison, Kiefer Jones of Milton-Union, Blake Miller of Dixie, and Sean Schiml of Northridge. Receiving honorable mention were Alby Baker and Levi Boher of Milton-Union, Ryan Banks and Austin Woodard of Northridge, jake Branson and Jordan Parrish of Carlisle, Hunt Doepel and Kyle Leis of Waynesville, Justin Keirns and Austin Kramer of Dixie, and Austin Phipot and Dustin Skinner of Middletown Madison.

In girls’ softball, Tom Shelton and Ashley Brown of Carlisle were named Coach of the Year and Pitcher of the Year respectively. Natalie Higgins of Madison earned Player of the Year. Named to the first team all-conference were: Annie Campbell and Brown of Carlisle, Kristin Eherhard of Northridge, Masey Gregg of Milton-Union, Natalie Higgins, Bekah Lenos, and Jordan Lykins of Madison, McKinlee Ruppert and Amara Wylie of Dixie, and Tori Wilson of Waynesville. Named to the second team all-SWBL Buckeye Division were: Sierra Bolen and Jenna Jewell of Carlisle, KenDahl Bowles and Joey Brinegar of Middletown Madison, Holly Flach and Celeste Runnels of Dixie, Taylor Jacobs and Anna Willson of Milton-Union, Linzee Smith of Northridge, and Emily Wells of Waynesville.

Granted honorable mention were: Bailey Allen and Sierra Orth of Carlisle, Autumn Belcher and Shelby Russell of Northridge, Michaela Fullmer and Hanna Oaks of Milton-Union, mariah Harlow and Emily Roberts of Dixie, Sarah Jones and Skylar Stiles of Waynesville, and Jenna O‘Hair and Taylor Phelps of Madison.

By Oliver Sanders

[email protected]

Reach Oliver Sanders at 937-683-4062 or at Twitter @osanders_RH.

No posts to display