Hitchcock earns POY honors, Eaton ties for 2nd in SWBL


DAYTON — Powered by three champions and a runner-up, Oakwood claimed its first SWBL tennis title since 2019 on Wednesday at Thomas Cloud Park.

The Jills won the Buckeye Division, while Waynesville and Eaton tied for second. Freshman Calathia Biteau and senior Callia Newman were second doubles champion. Senior Miranda Riggs was runner-up at first singles, while junior Lilly Rich was second singles champion and freshman Niobe Beiersdorfer was third singles champion.

Despite entering as the No. 2 seed, Eaton junior Mallory Hitchcock won the first singles title. She was the second singles champ last year. Eaton sophomore Ayana Sekine was second singles runner-up and the tandem of sophomore Rylie Daniels and junior Caroline Klawon finished first doubles runner-up.

Waynesville senior Abby Butterbaugh and junior Katie McKeehan won the first doubles title. Freshman Maya Hoppe was third singles runner-up. Madison sophomores Livia Carpenter and Presley Higgs entered bracket play as the seventh seed but finished second doubles runner-up.

Hithcock was tabbed the Buckeye Division Player of the Year, while Oakwood’s Christy Heppner was named Coach of the Year.

No posts to display