Eaton’s Mabry recognized with OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award


COLUMBUS — Throughout the 2023-24 school year, the coaches associations of the sports sanctioned by the Ohio High School Athletic Association selected one of their own for an OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award. Individuals selected reflect the values of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity through their professional responsibilities and are role models for student-athletes and others.

Glen Mabry, assistant coach for Eaton’s girls track and field team, was honored at a banquet earlier this year and was also recognized at the OHSAA State Track and Field Championships on Saturday, June 1 at Welcome Stadium.

“I think it’s a great honor,” Mabry said. “They choose one coach out of the whole state of Ohio in each sport to receive this award. So, I’m grateful for being nominated and receiving it. It’s a special award. It’s not about winning or anything like that, but sportsmanship, ethics and integrity which I’ve tried to uphold in all my years of coaching.

”My reaction was basically, why me? I’ve just tried, in all the years I’ve been coaching, to do my best for my athletes and try to get them to achieve whatever honors they can and enjoy the sport.”

The OHSAA congratulates the award winners and thanks all coaches for their outstanding service to Ohio’s student-athletes.

The OHSAA is proud to recognize the following coaches who received OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Awards during the 2023-24 school year. They include:

2023-24 OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity Award Winners

Girls Sports

Golf: Tom Stedman, Lancaster

Cross Country: Emily Long, Geneva

Volleyball: Diana Kramer, New Bremen

Soccer: Rick Polinari, Canfield South Range

Field Hockey: Macy McHale, Oxford Talawanda

Swimming and Diving: Denise Humphrey, The Plains Athens

Bowling: Rod Dever, Troy

Gymnastics: Teresa Principi, North Olmsted

Wrestling: Brandon Oliver, Jackson

Basketball: Walt DeShields, Beloit West Branch

Tennis: Gerri Bolin, Hamilton Ross

Track and Field: Glen Mabry, Eaton

Softball: Kevin Moody, Hilliard Bradley

Lacrosse: Kendall Horner, Thomas Worthington

Boys Sports

Golf: Alex Kepley, Cincinnati St. Xavier

Cross Country: Jeff Koksal, Lancaster

Soccer: Steve Knapp, Hudson

Football: Ted Ginn Sr., Cleveland Glenville

Swimming and Diving: Carlo Codon, Boardman

Bowling: Rick Hartings, Coldwater

Ice Hockey: Steve Morris, Amherst Steele

Wrestling: Joe Caniglia, Hudson

Basketball: Steve Mehalik, Brecksville-Broadview Heights

Tennis: Chris Mayer, Marietta

Track and Field: Kenneth Kellner, Sidney

Baseball: Rich Corvin, Crown City South Gallia

Volleyball: Carol Bysak, Beavercreek

Lacrosse: TBA

Reach Eddie Mowen Jr. at 937-683-4061 and follow on X @emowenjr.

No posts to display